OSU Lima Mathematics Faculty
Recipients of Teaching and Research Awards

OSU Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching

Each year, 10 professors out of the more than 3,000 eligible faculty members at The Ohio State University are chosen to receive the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching.

Recipients are nominated by students and colleagues, and are chosen by a committee of alumni, students and faculty.

Dr. Mohamed Yousif and Dr. Javad Abdalkhani  are among the 10 winners of the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching at OSU for academic years  1994/1995 and 2000/20001 respectively.

Dr. Javad Abdalkhani - 2000/2001

Associate Professor
Department of Mathematics
Lima Campus

Professor Abdalkhani has taught at Ohio State’s Lima campus since 1988, teaching everything from remedial sections to statistics to calculus. He also serves as a resource person for local educators in the Lima area, offering workshops for teachers and principals. Professor Abdalkhani is active in curriculum design and the use of creative teaching methods. He successfully implemented cooperative learning at the campus by emphasizing reading and writing in elementary mathematics classes, incorporating textbook reading skills and journal writing to connect mathematics theory with everyday practice. He serves on the Teaching Effectiveness Committee and is president of Lima’s Faculty Assembly. His doctorate is from Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Dr. Mohamed Yousif - 1994/1995

Department of Mathematics
Lima Campus

Mohamed Yousif of LIMA (45801), associate professor of mathematics at the Lima Campus, teaches several courses in first and second year math.  He is called especially effective in teaching math to non-majors, reducing their anxiety and helping them gain confidence and a strong foundation in the field.

The Ohio State University at Lima Outstanding Teaching Award

The Lima campus Teaching Excellence Award recognizes the outstanding performance of a faculty member in delivering skills and knowledge to Ohio State University students. Students, faculty, and the administration present this honor annually at the campus convocation. A recognition of past excellence and encouragement of future innovation, this award is an honor equivalent to the campus research award.

Dr. Mohamed Yousif - 1994/1995

Dr. Kameswarrao Casukhela - 2001/2002

Dr. Javad Abdalkhani - 1999/2000

Irina Boyadzhiev - 2009/2010

The Ohio State University at Lima Outstanding Scholar Award

The following mathematics faculty have been chosen by their peers for meritorious achievement in scholarship.

Dr. Tariq Rizvi won the first OSU-Lima Outstanding Scholar Award in 1990-91.

Dr. Mohamed Yousif won the Outstanding Scholar Award in 1993-94

Dr. Ivo Herzog won the Outstanding Scholar Award in 2001-2002.