OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Media Release Archives
For immediate release

June 4, 2013

Contact: Lesley Fry at (419) 995-8671 or Pam Joseph at (419) 995-8284

Ohio State Lima Board to meet; Town and Gown Award to be presented

The Ohio State University at Lima Board will meet at 4 p.m., Thursday, June 13, 2013, in the Public Service Board Room. An agenda follows. Following the condensed Board Meeting, the Violet I. Meek Town and Gown Award will be presented at 5 p.m. at the Visitor and Student Services Center. A bio for the 2013 honoree, Joyce Tracy, follows the agenda.

The Ohio State University at Lima


June 13, 2013

4 p.m.

Call to Order and Attendance

Doug Reinhart

Approval of Minutes of May 9, 2013, meeting

Doug Reinhart

Consideration of Financial Condition

Devon Phelps

Faculty Assembly Report

Mark Kleffner

Student Representative Report

Amanda Williams

Dean and Director’s Report

John Snyder

Proposed Board Meeting Schedule for 2013-2014

Proposed Board Committees and Staff Liaisons for 2013-2014

Board Roster 2013-2014

Old Business

New Business

Elect Karen K. Grothouse as Chair of The Board of The Ohio State University at Lima for a term beginning on July 1, 2013, and ending on June 30, 2014.

Elect Deborah S. Ellis as Vice Chair of The Board of The Ohio State University at Lima for a term beginning on July 1, 2013, and ending on June 30, 2014.

Recognize Amanda Williams for her excellent service as Student Representative on The Board of The Ohio State University at Lima 2012-2013.

Commend Doug Reinhart for his excellent service as Chair of the Board of The Ohio State University at Lima 2012-2013

Items presented by Board Members for consideration at a future meeting

Biography of Joyce Tracy

Degree Obtained: Bachelor of Science, Education, The Ohio State University

Joyce Tracy has stimulated personal growth and community development as the coordinator and instructor of the Adult Basic Literacy Education (ABLE) program at Apollo Career Center since 1982. Serving more than 500 students annually, Joyce helps enable adults to master basic reading, writing and math skills, and other life skills that help them obtain employment and improve their quality of life.

In the classroom, Joyce guides students down the intensive path of obtaining a General Education Development (GED) diploma. Many of these students come to Joyce during a vulnerable phase of their lives, not knowing how to access services to further their education and employment. Joyce’s dedication to helping them reach their goals is often life-altering for these students. Ultimately, Joyce is restoring their self-confidence so they can become productive members of society. More than 120 of her students graduate annually with the GED.

Joyce’s commitment to her community is evidenced by not only her involvement with area boards and foundations, but also by her working partnerships with organizations and institutions such as the Bureau of Vocational Rehab, Ohio Department of Job and Family Services, area colleges and universities, Lima City Schools, Ohio Hi-Point and the Ohio Board of Regents. Joyce is passionate about offering bridge programming for underrepresented traditional age students as well as adult learners returning to school after some time away. She understands the importance of collaboration and recognizes that no single entity can solve college and career readiness and completion issues alone.

Community involvement is not only a passion for Joyce, but also a necessity for her role. Ohio ABLE programs provide their services free of charge, which means Joyce constantly leverages her relationships with businesses and individuals to secure donations to fund the program and offset the cost incurred by Apollo. She also writes and receives numerous state grants.

The Violet I. Meek Town and Gown Award honorees personify the idea of Disciplina in civitatem, or education for citizenship, the motto of The Ohio State University. Tracy is the eleventh recipient. The award is named for Violet I. Meek, who retired as Dean and Director in 2003 after 12 years in the position at Ohio State Lima. During her tenure, she was an ardent supporter and promoter of community growth and increased interaction between the University and the people and communities in its service area. As such, the Board created an award in her honor to recognize those working toward similar goals. Past winners include David S. Adams, Associate Professor Emeritus of Sociology; Tom Francis, a popular media personality in Lima whose activities have centered around his commitment to the University and the community; Clyde Rauch, the president of Tuttle Services who has worked diligently with Ohio State Lima and its co-located institution; Bob Schulte, co-owner and Executive President of Spherion of Lima, Inc., who is currently serving as a campaign co-chair for Ohio State Lima’s comprehensive campaign; William V. Ackerman, Associate Professor of Geography; Jaye E. McCain, a financial advisor for Edward Jones and Associates, who is currently serving as a campaign co-chair for Ohio State Lima’s comprehensive campaign; Dr. Jon E. Rockhold, a former Special Assistant to the Dean and Director with a strong record of outstanding professional leadership in the community; Ora "Bud" Winzenried, past president of Kenton Structural and Ornamental Iron Works and a former member of the Board of Directors of the Ohio State Alumni Association; Mayor David J. Berger, mayor of the City of Lima who helped form the Joint Higher Education Task Force, which aimed to retain an Ohio State presence in Lima in the form of a four-year university; and William D. Angel, Associate Professor of Political Science.