The Ohio State University at Lima


Speaker's Bureau

 Art

Presentations

Ed Valentine
Professor
valentine.19@osu.edu
A Career as a Professional Fine Artist
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Biology

Presentations

Jacqueline Augustine
Assistant Professor
augustine.63@osu.edu
What Bird Was That? (Helpful Hints in Identifying Birds - any age)
Bountiful Bird Feeding (How to Get the Most Out of Feeding Birds - any age)
My Winding Journey from Animal Lover to Behavioral Ecologist (age 13+)
Why are Some Male Prairie-Chickens So Sexy? (age 13+)
Careers in Biology (8-12 grade)
House Wren Antics (age 13+)

Ryan Norris
Assistant Professor
norris.667@osu.edu
Investigating a Biodiversity Hot-spot: The Unique Small Mammals of West Africa
Bats of Ohio
Small Mammals of Ohio
How We Use DNA to Read the Past
What We Don't Know About How the Extinction of Non-bird Dinosaurs Led to the Rise of Mammals

 Career Services

Presentations

Rachel Richardson
Career Services Coordinator
richardson.607@osu.edu
Choosing a Career/Major
Resume & Cover Letter Writing
Job/Internship Search Guidance
Interviewing Skills
Job Shadowing/Internships

 Earth Sciences

Presentations

Mark Kleffner
Professor
kleffner.1@osu.edu
Which Dinosaur Forgot To Wipe Its Feet? (K-6th grade)
Dinosaur Derby: How Fast Were the Dinosaurs? (5th grade-adults)
Breaking the Scales? Weighing Dinosaurs (5th grade-adults)
Jurassic Park: Science or Science Fiction? (K-adults)
How We Know What We Know About Dinosaurs (K-adults)
Geology of ____ County; any county in our service area (5th grade-adults)
Ohio Life 450 Million Years Ago (K-adults)
Minerals Important in Our Daily Lives (K-adults)
Rocks Important in Our Daily Lives (K-adults)
Ohio Earthquakes (3rd grade-adults)
Caverns & Sinkholes in Ohio (3rd grade-adults)
How to Identify Rocks (3rd grade-adults)
How to Identify Minerals (3rd grade-adults)
Cub Scouts - Geology Belt Loop & Academic Pin
Girl Scouts - Digging the Past Patch
State Fossils, Minerals, Gems & Rocks (5th grade-adults)
Volcanoes & Their Products (K-adults)

  Education

Presentations

Brittany Collier-Gibson
Lecturer
collier-gibson.1@osu.edu
The Changing Face of Student Teaching
University-School Partnerships in Teacher Education
Child Development and the Theorists Behind the Ideas
 
 

Dean Cristol
Associate Professor
cristol.2@osu.edu
Using Free Tools Promote Teacher Efficacy with Mobile-Learning
Mobile Learning in Teacher Preparation and P-12 U.S. Schools
Educators Getting Comfortable with Education Technology
Interactive Geography Learning
Greating Online Lessons for P-12 Students
Technology Access for All Students

Leah Herner-Patnode
Associate Professor
herner-patnode.1@osu.edu
Students with Special Needs in Gen Ed Classroom Settings: Myths & Realities
Teaching as a Profession (any age)
Teacher Study Groups: A Different Way to Approach Professional Development
 
 

 English

Presentations

David Adams
Associate Professor/Honors Director
adams.428@osu.edu
Metaphor (K-12)
 
 
 
 
 

David Hartwig
Lecturer
hartwig.18@osu.edu
Shakespeare and the Elizabethan Theatre
Shakespeare and Modern Film Adaptation
Macbeth: Performance History
The Tempest: Performance History
Shakespeare's Histories and the Wars of the Roses
Performing and: Romeo & Juliet, King Lear, Much Ado About Nothing
Performing and: A Midsummer Night's Dream, Julius Ceasar, The Tempest
Performing and Henry V
Student Plagiarism: Understanding and Pedagogy
The Life & Times of William Shakespeare

John Hellmann
Professor
hellmann.1@osu.edu
The Making of JFK
The Vietnam War Films
 
 
 
 

 
Beth Sutton-Ramspeck
Associate Professor
sutton-ramspeck.1@osu.edu
Harry Potter
Women in the Victorian Period
Victorian Pollution, Disease, and the History of Housekeeping
 
 

Doug Sutton-Ramspeck
Associate Professor/Coordinator
sutton-ramspeck.2@osu.edu
Writing Poetry
Creative Writing
Creativity
Tutoring Writing
Teaching Composition
Writing Essays
Writing Centers

 History

Presentations

Allison Gilmore
Associate Dean/Associate Professor
gilmore.24@osu.edu
World War II in Global Perspective: Four Distinct Wars
World War II: Origins of the Cold War in Asia
World War II: The Propaganda War
Allied Psychological Warfare against the Japanese Army in World War II
Linguists at War: The Critical Role of Allied Translators & Interpreters in the War against Japan
Civil-Military Relations in the War for American Independence, 1775-1783

 
Roger Nimps
Assistant Dean/Lecturer
nimps.1@osu.edu
Underground Railroad in Ohio 
Ohio in the Civil War
Harry S. Truman: Then & Now
Chautauquas in U.S. History
 

 Library

Presentations

Tina Schneider
Professor/Director - Lima Campus Library
schneider.290@osu.edu
Bind Us Together: Collections of Congregational Song Made Known
Ohio State Lima Campus History
 
 
 

 Music

Presentations

Margaret Young
Assistant Professor
young.1661@osu.edu
History of the Piano
Western Classical Music
Musical Theatre
Sight Reading
Careers in Music
Music in America

 Political Science

Presentations

William Angel
Associate Professor Emeritus
angel.1@osu.edu
Electoral Politics
Ohio Political History
American Political Parties
 
 

 Psychology

Presentations

Joseph Green
Professor
green.301@osu.edu
Hypnosis/Mind Body Connections
Smoking Cessation (or Other Attempts at Habit Control)
General Topics in Clinical Psychology
Memory (Hypnotically Enhanced, General Types of Memory, Problems, Mnemonics)
 
 

Samantha Haudenschield
Lecturer/Coordinator
haudenschield.11@osu.edu
Stress & Your Health: The Impact of Psychological States on Physical Health
Health Psychology: The Mind-Body Connection
Identifying Risk Factors/Warning Signs for Depression, Anxiety & Suicide
Coping Skills for Every Area of Your Life
Coping with Chronic Pain
Caring for an Aging Parent
Academic Success for the Returning Adult (Non-traditional) Student
The Science of Being Happy: What the Research Tells Us & How to Make it Work
Current Treatments for Mood & Anxiety Disorders
Relaxation, Meditation, & Mindfulness in Practice

Virginia Tompkins
Assistant Professor
tompkins.73@osu.edu
Early Literacy
The Development of Social Cognition in Early Childhood
Parenting
 
 

 Theatre

Presentations

Maria Ignatieva
Associate Professor
ignatieva.1@osu.edu
Contemporary Russian Culture (including Education, Film, Literature, and Theatre)
 
 
 
 
 

Dan Matthews
Assistant Professor
matthews.198@osu.edu
The Elements & Principles of Design (High School)
Scenic Carpentry: Fake it to Make it
Panel Discussion with a Creative Team from Lima Production