OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Student Life:
Violet I. Meek Student Leadership Award
The Violet I. Meek Student Leadership Award is an annual award to the Ohio State Lima student who has demonstrated positive leadership and a vision for the future for the student body while enrolled as an Ohio State Lima student. The recipient will embody the land grant mission of Ohio State Lima, demonstrating a quest for new knowledge combined with public service, one who can balance intellectual pursuits with extra-curricular activities and responsibilities.

THE AWARD: The award honors Dr. Violet I. Meek upon her retirement as Dean/Director of Ohio State Lima. It will be conferred at the annual Academic Awards Ceremony. The honoree receives an individual award. A plaque citing all honorees is maintained and displayed in the Office of Student Activities.

SELECTION CRITERIA: A committee comprised of the faculty, staff and students will recommend the honoree from a group of nominees.

Nominees shall complete a nomination form and may provide resumes and letters of support to support their nomination. Nominations may be made by any member of the campus community. Self-nomination is appropriate. Criteria for the Violet I Meek Student Leadership Award follows:

  • Possesses a cumulative GPA of 2.7 or higher,
  • Is an undergraduate student in good standing with the University,
  • Is currently enrolled at the University and have at least attended Ohio State Lima for a minimum of two semesters,
  • Has established a demonstrated record of service in leadership and membership roles in campus organizations and activities,
  • Displays a strong sense of personal pride and spirit for Ohio State Lima,
  • Has made a significant impact on development of co-curricular life at Ohio State Lima,
  • Utilizes a leadership style that is an example for others to emulate.
Nominations will be distributed by January 26 and must be submitted by February 27.

APPROVAL AND IMPLEMENTATION: The Ohio State Lima Board of Trustees will approve, fund, and implement the Violet I. Meek Student Leadership Award.

Print PDF Nomination Form