By-Laws to the Faculty Assembly Constitution

Adopted 29 March 1967

(Revised and approved on: September 1983; 1 April 1986; 31 May 1988; 15 March 1994; May 22, 2001; April 23, 2003; Jan 18, 2008; March 9, 2010; April 14, 2010; May 22, 2014; April 21, 2020; April 21, 2022; January 26, 2023; February 23, 2023).

1. Appointed Committees

(1) The **Promotion and Tenure Committee** shall consist of 6 members of the Faculty Assembly, appointed by the Dean and Director of the Campus from tenured faculty. Members serve twoyear terms. The Dean and Director, in consultation with the Faculty Leadership Committee, will appoint the chair and members of the Lima Campus P&T committee based on the recommendations of the Associate Dean, who serves as administrative liaison to the committee.

2. Elected Committees

(a) Representatives to all committees are elected in April. Elections will be administered by the Faculty Leadership Committee. All officers of the Faculty Assembly and committee members will assume their offices effective August 1 of each year. All terms are for a duration of two years, and terms will be staggered. Each committee will prepare a report for the assembly at least once a year. Whenever a member of the Faculty Assembly is on research-assignment for an entire year, committee memberships held by that colleague will be vacated. The Faculty Assembly will then appoint a new member to fill the remainder of each vacated term. (Minutes 11/l/84, 5/3/89 and 4/25/01)

(b) Any elected member of a committee (faculty, staff) shall have voting rights on the committee. Ex officio administrators with greater than 50% administrative duties shall not vote within Faculty Assembly committees. Ex officio members of a committee shall not chair that committee (Minutes 4/21/22).

(c) Chairs of committees shall notify the President of the Faculty Assembly whenever someone on the committee is unable to serve. The Faculty Assembly should work diligently to fill all vacant positions. The Faculty Assembly President may appoint a person to serve out the remainder of a term on an interim basis (or a special election may be held if more than one nominee). If vacant positions cannot be filled, the committee may proceed without full membership provided the chair determines that the committee can fulfill its duties with existing members (Minutes 4/21/22).

(d) A description of committee duties and responsibilities shall be available on the Faculty Assembly webpage (Minutes 4/21/22).

List of Committees

(1) The Academic Affairs Committee is composed of 5 members of the Assembly with at least one faculty member each from Humanities; from the Arts; from Social Science/Education; and from Sciences/Mathematics, along with three ex officio members, the Associate Dean or designee, the Assistant Dean (responsible for academic scheduling), and the Library Director, when appropriate. Ad hoc non-voting student members may be invited as appropriate. (Minutes 12/3/76; 4/6/79; 4/13/81; 10/5/84; 11/1/84; 11/7/89; 0/7//93; 5/22/01; 4/14/10; 4/21/22; 1/26/23; 2/23/23). (2) The **Faculty Leadership Committee** is composed of the following elected members: Faculty Assembly President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, University Senator, Arts & Sciences (ASC) Senator, and the single-person-department representative (Minutes 4/21/22).

(3) The **Faculty Salary Advisory Committee** is composed of the following elected members: 2 faculty members from Humanities; 1 faculty member from the Arts; 2 faculty members from Social Science/Education; and 2 faculty members from Sciences/Mathematics (Minutes 10/l/82; 9/1983; 10/5/84; 11/l/84; 10/l/86; 5/22/01).

(4) **Outreach, Service, and Engagement Committee.** Members: two faculty members elected by the Faculty Assembly, two staff members elected by the Lima Staff Advisory Council (LSAC), and three ex officio members: the Assistant Dean for Engagement, the Academic Enrichment (AcE) Director for Service Learning, and the Director of Continuing Education (Minutes 4/21/22).

(5) The **Professional Development Committee (PDC)** is composed of 5 members. The committee shall be composed of faculty members with the rank of Assistant Professor or above (Minutes 1/15/76; 11/3/83; 10/5/84; 11/1/84; 4/21/22).

(6) The **Strategic Action Committee** shall consist of 5 elected faculty members, the Dean and Director of the Campus (or designee), the Associate Dean and the Associate Director for Business and Finance who are ex officio members. No single department shall have more than one member on the committee (Minutes 10/6/78; 1/12/79; 3/6/80; 11/l/84; 5/22/01; 4/23/03; 4/21/22).

(7) The **Teaching & Academic Practices Committee (TAP)** shall consist of 4 faculty members from various departments. The committee may also invite ad hoc non-voting student members. The AcE Director for Honors and the AcE Director for Education Away are ex officio members. The Academic Assistant Dean is a non-voting ex officio Member (Minutes 9/24/91; 5/21/01; 4/23/03; 1/16/08; 4/14/10; 4/21/22).

(8) Undergraduate Research and Mentoring Committee (UMRC). URMC Members: 4 faculty members, elected through Faculty Assembly elections, shall serve on the URMC. No two faculty members from any college may be from the same division. The AcE Director for Undergraduate Research is an ex officio member. Ad hoc non-voting student members may also be invited to serve as appropriate (Minutes 4/14/10; 4/21/22).

3. Other Representatives.

(1) The Faculty Assembly also elects, in accordance with the rules of the University Senate, a Senator and an Alternate Senator to the University Senate. These representatives are elected in April for a three-year term beginning the following August.

(2) The Faculty Assembly also elects, in accordance with the rules of the Arts & Sciences Senate, a representative and an alternate representative to the ASC Senate. These representatives are elected in April for a three-year term beginning the following August.