The Ohio State University at Lima

Ohio State Lima makes the ‘DREAM’ of going to college possible for local students

Twenty Allen County high school students will receive scholarships to The Ohio State University at Lima during the eighth annual Dare to Reach Excellence, Achievement and Meaning (DREAM) Program graduation at 6 p.m., Thur., April 23, 2015, in the Student Services Center at Ohio State Lima.

"For the students who will receive the DREAM scholarship, a financial burden is lifted and a roadblock to college success moved," said Temple Patton, DREAM program coordinator. "They are very academically capable students, but need some support, in one way or another, to get to college. We are excited to welcome them to the Buckeye family."

The DREAM Program is a university-preparation program designed by Ohio State Lima to ensure that all students capable of achieving a university education have the opportunity to do so. Students are nominated to participate in the DREAM program by their guidance counselors. As part of the program, students and their parents are offered one-on-one support and counseling on such topics as the application process, financial aid and scholarships. To successfully complete the program, each student has to attend DREAM events held throughout the year.

This year’s scholarship recipients are: Gabriella Allen, Shawnee High School; Michael Blosser, Elida High School; Destiny Garrett, Lima Senior High School; Jenna Halpern, Lima Senior High School; Ericca Jacomet, Delphos Jefferson; Cachay Jeffers, Apollo Career Center; Bethany Jordan-Squire, Lima Senior High School; Loren Kerr, Lima Senior High School; Emily Korikian, Apollo Career Center; Shawn Snyder, Shawnee High School; Alexis Trent, Shawnee High School; Travis Tuttle, Lima Senior High School; Cynthia Wagner, Elida High School; Malachi Ward, Shawnee High School; Jacen Warren, Shawnee High School; Imani Watson, Perry High School; Kali Wilcutt, Lima Senior High School; Aubrey Williams, Elida High School; Joshua Wilson, Lima Senior High School; Julian Wright, Apollo Career Center.

Each student will receive a $1,500 scholarship to Ohio State Lima, renewable for four years. The incoming class for Autumn 2015 is the eighth group to receive the scholarship.

Allen County schools eligible to participate include Allen East, Apollo Career Center, Bath, Bluffton, Delphos Jefferson, Delphos St. John’s, Elida, Lima Central Catholic, Lima Senior, Perry, Shawnee, Spencerville and Temple Christian.


For immediate release

April 17, 2015

Contact: Pam Joseph at (419) 995-8284 or Lesley Fry at (419) 995-8671