2023 Faculty Staff award winners

The Ohio State University at Lima has announced the winners of the 2023 faculty mentorship, scholarship and teaching awards, the Dedicated Staff Award and the Outstanding Service Award. 

The Ohio State Lima Faculty Award for Sustained Student Mentorship recognizes sustained excellence over several years in mentoring undergraduate scholarly or creative endeavors. The 2023 winner is Tina Schneider, professor with University Libraries and director of the Lima Campus Library. Schneider has played an important role in bringing Ohio State's prestigious Undergraduate Research Library Fellowship to the Lima campus. The competitive paid fellowships support only a handful of students across all campuses each year, and in the past five years, Schneider's research students have received three of these awards and she has mentored an additional student. Schneider’s mentees dive deep into summer-long projects, devoting focused time to their research, and receive a great deal of guidance from their faculty advisor.  Her students have presented at the Lima Undergraduate Research Forum, the Columbus Research Festival, and Libraries Online Research Forum. Their work has played an important role in understanding our campus's history by investigating the past experiences of women on our campus and through careful evaluation of a hymnal in our collection that was autographed by many important historical figures. Her students' research has been published in peer-reviewed work, archived in prestigious collections, and incorporated into larger projects.  

The Ohio State Lima Outstanding Scholar Award recognizes a faculty member for scholarship representing a significant contribution in the scholar’s discipline. The 2023 winner is Dan Matthews, associate professor of theatre. Matthews has established himself as a leading expert in the history of Czech and Slovak scenography. His work usually takes the form of scenographic model reproductions, which are often exhibited in museums and galleries. Such work requires a unique combination of skills: historical research, technical and artistic knowledge of theatre design, and the crafting skills to build models. 

The Outstanding Teaching Award at Ohio State Lima is a student-driven honor. The 2023 Outstanding Teaching Award winner is Mary “Katie” Barnes, lecturer in education. Barnes received numerous sincere nominations from students whom she taught. Her mastery in education displays an illustrative model for many. She is a model of kindness and compassion, offering future educators a resemblance of what an effective instructor looks like. She goes the extra mile providing students with life lessons and the resources required for success.

Ohio State Lima’s Dedicated Staff Award recognizes a campus staff member who has demonstrated positive work ethic and a record of involvement, utilizes a leadership style that is an example for others to emulate and displays a strong sense of pride and spirit for Ohio State Lima. The 2023 winner is Sergeant Tony Swygart, University Police. Swygart is a leader on campus in public safety, community engagement and human compassion. He was instrumental in securing a $70,000 grant for campus safety locks, has organized a series of active threat training sessions, and is often the campus representative for events like the Allen County Board of Developmental Disabilities Reverse Parade. Swygart views his role as the campus police officer to be one of a protector against all harm – physical and mental. He takes pride in meeting with students and parents throughout orientation season and offers a reassuring presence at all campus events. He has also extended his service in the classroom, guest lecturing or co-presenting to students in a variety of classes ranging from education to social work.

The Outstanding Service Award recognizes individuals for their contributions to the essential work of The Ohio State University at Lima at the highest level of excellence. Candidates were nominated based on meritorious service that is above and beyond the duties normally assigned to their positions. The nominees demonstrate and support the Buckeye idea of care for others, as well as carrying out the mission of the university on an ongoing basis. The nominees have taken remarkable initiative to develop, lead, and implement projects and events that have positively shaped the Ohio State Lima community. They exhibit a resilient attitude and encourage others to succeed alongside them. The 2023 winners are Margaret “Margie” Anich, lecturer of theatre, and Chad Welker, coordinator of recreational sports.