The Ohio State University at Lima

Violet I. Meek Town and Gown Award

The Ohio State University at Lima’s Violet I. Meek Town and Gown Award honors one who exemplifies a significant and longstanding dedication to Disciplina in Civitatem, Education For Citizenship, the motto of The Ohio State University.

THE AWARD: The award honors Dr. Violet I. Meek, who retired as Dean and Director of Ohio State Lima in July 2003.

Recipients to date include:

Mrs. Karen Grothouse: 2020
Mr. William Timmermeister: 2019
Mrs. Martha S. MacDonell: 2018
Mr. Roger Nimps: 2016
Mr. George Brooks: 2015

Dr. William J. Sullivan: 2014
Mrs. Joyce A. Tracy: 2013
Dr. William D. Angel, Jr.: 2012
Mayor David Berger: 2011
Mr. Ora "Bud" Winzenried: 2010
Mr. Jon Rockhold: 2009

Mrs. Jaye E. McCain: 2008
Mr. Robert M. Schulte: 2007
Dr. William Ackerman: 2006
Mr. Clyde Rauch: 2005
Mr. Thomas Francis: 2004
Dr. David S. Adams: 2003

Consideration will be given to those who, through sustained, effective efforts, have contributed to the cultural, educational and social well-being of the communities served by Ohio State Lima.


Exemplifying a collaborative spirit, the model candidate consistently advocates for higher education while embodying the reciprocal relationship of the Town and Gown.

Nominations may be made by anyone and nominees need not be alumni of The Ohio State University. Only the name of the honoree will be made public. An individual award is presented to the honoree while a plaque naming all former award recipients hangs in the office of the Dean and Director. This year’s award recipient will be announced at a special reception.

Please feel welcome to contact Robin Pohl, Executive Assistant to the Dean and Director at Ohio State Lima at 567-242-7200 if you require additional information.